Don't do this in your developer portfolio

This is one of the mistakes in most beginners portfolio

One of the most common things I see in most beginners portfolio is that they are adding a percentages in each technology that they place in their skills section.

This is a mistake.

There’s no way for anyone to accurately measure how much they know in a specific technology.

This can also make a bad impression to your potential recruiters.

Think of it this way:
If you are the recruiter and you need to hire a JavaScript Developer, would you hire someone who only knows 60% of JavaScript?


What do I recommend?

Just put all the technologies that you are proficient at and you use for your projects.

Do not forget to put the names of the technology, non-technical people would visit your portfolio and they won’t know what those technologies are if you are just showing icons.

Don’t display percentages, let your portfolio projects show your visitors how skilled you are in those technologies.

WebDevVisuals Quick Update:

I recently finished working on bookmark and like functionality.

It took more time than I expected because I had to learn how I would structure the data in Firebase Firestore Database.

That’s it for now.

Do you have a question for me?
Please feel free to reply to this email if you have any questions :)

You can also get in touch with me by:
- Replying to this email
- Sending me a DM on Twitter/X

My previous newsletter issues:
- Fundamentals are enough to build something awesome
- This Mistake Cost Me Weeks of My Time Learning
- Don't skip this part, you'll need it

Thanks for reading,
Ali

Reply

or to participate.